Dick Smith Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Dick Smith
Shop Tablets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick Smith.

ZTE Optus MyTab 7" Android™ Pre-Paid Tablet

The Optus ZTE V9 Pre-Paid Tablet features a 7" resistive touch screen display with 800 x 480 screen resolution and a 3MP rear-facing camera.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Optus MyTab 7" Android™ Pre-Paid Tablet
Review 1 for Optus MyTab 7" Android™ Pre-Paid Tablet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value_Excellent Product
Date:17 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Dobboinaus
Location: Brisbane
Gender: Male
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Already owning an itouch and a Galaxy S, I was really after a larger screened device and how handy is the Optus My Tab ZTE 7" V9 . The 7" inch screen is just right for surfing the net on the go 3G or on wireless around the house, its an easy to hold light weight tablet that improves the consumption of digital media. With the addition of a 16g card I now have a good sized mobile video / music player.
At $99.00 I wish I could have bought another as we have to take turns. If DSE gets more at $99 I would recommend hunting one down..
Pros: big screen, very versitile
Cons: touch screen takes practice, 3 hour recharge
 I would recommend this to a friend!
Review 2 for Optus MyTab 7" Android™ Pre-Paid Tablet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great ... but what happened to the 8GB?
Date:16 June 2011
Customer Avatar
MrGronk
Location: Port Douglas
Gender: Male
Age: 50-59
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the Tablet better than any expectation I had from reading the previous reviews but was disappointed that the promised 6months/8GB (which unsurprisingly has disappeared from this website) turned out to be 3 months/3GB.
Apart from that I'm extremely happy.
The upgrade to Android 2.2 was easy to do but as I did that before I had used it I can't compare it to 2.1.
Pros: easy to upgrade to android 2.2, very clear screen, touch screen quite responsive
Cons: only came with 3months/3gb instead of 6months/8gb
 I would recommend this to a friend!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Optus MyTab 7" Android™ Pre-Paid Tablet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Buy
Date:13 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Poida
Location: Perth WA
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a $150 with the 3 months 3G data this is a great buy.
I placed a 16GB micro sd card in mine and have downloaded maps of the world (navdroyd) for off line navigation. Even if you just buy it for a GPS it's still great valve with a large touch screen, never mind the extra features of a phone and all the software, camera, wifi, net and apps.
There is a great case available on the net that you can fold to make the mytab sit up so you can watch movies/tv shows on it.
Andriod 2.2 is available for free upgrade from the optus or zte websites.
Pros: wifi microsd gps
 I would recommend this to a friend!
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Optus MyTab 7" Android™ Pre-Paid Tablet
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Optus Mytab
Date:6 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Gadgetfix
Location: Perth
Gender: Male
Age: 50-59
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this a while ago from Dick Smiths as they were the only ones who had them available to try out. The unit works surprisingly well. The screen is bright enough. The response with the resistive screen is quite good. It can play quite a few games qute well but does have limitations because of the slower processor. The battery can take a while to charge but then it also lasts quite a while - several hours. The speakers are quite loud. It is quite novel using it as a phone (not a main phone of course). The keyboard is pretty good for texting etc. All in all it's very good value. The WIFI also works very well. I have since brought another 7" brand name tablet but this still compares quite favourably - especially for the price. The unit makes an excellent daily news reader as downloads are mobile sized so use little data but are very readable on the larger screen. It also makes a good ebook reader and is not too heavy to hold for extended periods, unlike other brand name tablets.
Pros: inexpensive adequate performance
Cons: slower processor touch screen not perfect
 I would recommend this to a friend!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Optus MyTab 7" Android™ Pre-Paid Tablet
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Price/Performance Ratio
Date:14 February 2011
Customer Avatar
JamesH
Location: Sydney, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At roughly half the cost of higher-spec competitors (such as the Samsung Galaxy Tab or iPad), the V9 is an excellent Tablet for the asking price.
It is worth noting that what sets this tablet in this price bracket is the Resistive rather than Capacitative touch screen. While initially annoying, after a week I got used to the pressure required and it is no longer irritating.
Another factor for the price is the specifications, which are lower than other competitors (slower processor). I could not justify spending extra on other models when considering the small impact this had on working with the tablet.
Pros: cheap, excellent price/performance ratio, battery life is excellent, sturdy construction
Cons: touchscreen needs getting used to, software can be slow
 I would recommend this to a friend!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Optus MyTab 7" Android™ Pre-Paid Tablet
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does everything but it's not an expensive tablet
Date:10 February 2011
Customer Avatar
frooglejim
Location: sydney
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
I thought a lot and read a lot of reviews about this tablet and I was really disappointed that NOWHERE can you actually pick one up and see what it's like (BOO Optus) but I took the punt and I'm happy with it. It's a great size because you can drop in it your bag and forget it's there. It's great for surfing the net but not as slick as an ipad or an HTC desire due to the slower processor and the resistive screen, but the Ipad is too big to hold comfortably and surfing on a 3.7inch screen sucks (zoom in, zoom out, zoom in, zoom out....)
Works very well for watching movies if you make sure they're in the right format (mp4 ffmpeg <800mb).
Sound from the speakers is excellent for a little device but the headphone socket is poor (not very loud and average quality, no point in using good headphones).
Great for texting and email.
Touch screen is responsive but the whole tablet responds with the odd slight delay, again I think because of a slow processor.
The screen is good but duller than an Ipad or Desire. Viewing angles are good.
It comes loaded with some Optus bloatware which ties up valuable memory and you can't uninstall without rooting it. Shame on Optus for not letting you get rid of that cr@p. I don't mind them installing it but if I don't want it, I should be able to get rid of it.
Battery life is great 9 or 10 hours straight is possible if you manage it a bit.
Overall, it's fantastic if you are reasonable about your expectations of a <$300 tablet with 3 months of 3g internet bundled.
Pros: great size features price, speaker is great
Cons: not too speedy processor, ok screen, sound through headphones is average
 I would recommend this to a friend!
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Optus MyTab 7" Android™ Pre-Paid Tablet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zte tablet
Date:4 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cribbie
Location: brisbane au
Gender: Male
Age: 50-59
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel that this almost as good as my ip#d the gps works very well over all my zte runs nice and smooth I am happy as
Pros: it just works
Cons: dosent do the housework
 I would recommend this to a friend!
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Optus MyTab 7" Android™ Pre-Paid Tablet
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with item
Date:26 January 2011
Customer Avatar
SamoanKiwi
Location: Carlingford, NSW 2118
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought the tablet this morning and after a full charge had a full go at the tablet. This is my first tablet, but ive been hands on with a family member's Ipad. This isnt an ipad and lacks a lot BUT if you want something on the cheap that does just about what an Ipad does then this is for you. Cool apps and easy access. It comes with a sim card and has gigs on it, but I ive yet to try my Optus $3 deal sim pre paid sim card, but im told it shouldnt be a problem. I love it!
Pros: easy to use, cheap but pretty hi-tech
Cons: needs head set to use phone otherwise your on spea, couldve come with a slot to put in a wrist strap, lacks a carry case
 I would recommend this to a friend!
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Optus MyTab 7" Android™ Pre-Paid Tablet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing for the price
Date:17 January 2011
Customer Avatar
Pipingmad
Location: Gympie
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got one of these 2 weeks ago. Great performance, even on 3G. Just a pitty ZTE have not producted a case for it yet. Android is easy to use, plenty of apps online, blu-tooth required to make calls as tablet only does speaker phone. Good sound quality for music, able to sinc with google for contacts etc. I have switched from an Iphone 3G and don't regret 1 minute of it. You can put a Virgin sim straight in and change the AP settings (google it) so I can still use my Virgin post paid sim without paying to unlock. Once I get a blu-tooth headset and car holder, will not need a GPS anymore. The GPS software works better than my GPS, and it is a 7 inch screen.
You are able to view word documents with free apps, easy to read on a 7 inch screen as opposed to iphone screen.
Pros: price, performance, features
Cons: no specific case get 1 from ebay.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
22 of 23 found this review helpful.