Dick Smith Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Dick Smith
Shop Up To 25% Off TVs or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick Smith.

Dick Smith Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV

The Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV features a built-in HD DVB-T tuner, screen resolution of 1920 x 1080, adaptive 3D digital Combo Filter, USB media playback, AV Stereo and HDTV ready- It’s a TV packed with features everyone can learn to use and enjoy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Review 1 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Purchase, great quality
Date:1 August 2012
Customer Avatar
belle
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Gender: Female
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really hesitant buying a tv online that I hadn't seen, but now that I have the tv I am really impressed, very stylish sleek black tv and the picture quality is awesome from every angle. I really love this tv definitely a good buy, would buy from Dick Smith again.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cant find any faults
Date:2 May 2012
Customer Avatar
jayz
Location: brisbane
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YES, as title says ,i tried so hard to find any defects in this TV , but i give up, for such price, this is amazing deal,, everything works perfect, like a complete awesome package
Pros: whole tv itseld
Cons: nothing
 I would recommend this to a friend!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing tv
Date:29 April 2012
Customer Avatar
gamerkid
Location: sydney
Gender: Male
Age: Under 18
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
im 14 years old and got this tv as a gift for christmas and im a gamer and i can tell you its a great tv perfect size screen (for gamers) led/lcd screen extremely thin energy efficient and its really cheap to but i did find it hard to use at first but after a while its very easy :)
Pros: great size extremely cheap energy efficient
Cons: hard to use at start
 I would recommend this to a friend!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good quality for Price
Date:3 April 2012
Customer Avatar
jborgartz
Location: Burnie, Tasmania
Gender: Male
Age: Under 18
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very great T.V. espeacially for the price. Very satisfied. I use this as a monitor for my laptop and for my Xbox and the performance/quality is stunning. I am looking at buying another two for a surround desktop setup. I would definately recommend this to anyone looking to buy.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great picture - not so good sound
Date:16 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris1
Location: Port Stephens, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: Over 60
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up and works well in relatively poor signal area. The picture is clear and bright. The sound is not so good, apparently coming from small, inferior speakers, though the quality seemed to improve over a week or so of use..
Overall a good piece of equipment and great value for under $300!
Pros: picture quality, price
Cons: sound quality
 I would recommend this to a friend!
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Shed TV
Date:17 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Nobby
Location: Cooma
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this tv to replace 68cm analogue one. Great picture. Sound reasonably fixed by increasing bass to 99 and treble to 59. Its a thin TV so wasn't expecting extraordinary sound like the family tv. Good value for money. 6 days delivery to Cooma from Syd. All good so far. Does have 7 day EPG. Just arrow up to programme guide then arrow across. You can arrow down to channel and select any ch by arrowing across. Took some finding but it is there.
Pros: good picture and colours.
Cons: sound not great bu wasn't expecting too much
 I would recommend this to a friend!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value for Money
Date:3 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Marcus3500
Location: Dareton, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yeah I'd agree that viewing angle is a bit of an issue. However the picture is excellent.
User interface could still do with some polish but it's much better than previous Dick Smith offerings.
Attaching headphone is a bit of issue as the audio output only works of the TV tuner not the HDMI inputs such as DVD player.
There is only one audio input which is shared with the composite and component inputs so in reality you can not fully use both of the inputs if you want the TV to process the audio.
If the EPG was better I'd give the unit 10 out of 10.
In terms of bang for your buck it's excellent.
Pros: good picture, excellent price, tuner seems good in weak signal areas, usb movie playback is excellent, works great with the wii
Cons: epg is rubbish/unpolished, audio output only works on inbuilt tuner, remote control coding seems obscure
 I would recommend this to a friend!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best value for Money 32" LED LCD TV (2011)
Date:31 December 2011
Customer Avatar
F35TSVNTHQLD
Location: Townsville, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal Second Full HD + Built in Tuner 32" LED LCD TV available in market as at 31/12/2011, Yep, Today!
After doing the 5 - 7 hour internet search, we narrowed the shopping adventure down to 3 retailers.
The Dick Smith really sticks by his product. We got a 2 year (Replacement Warranty) 12 months standard and for less than $50 (AUS) got 12 months more.
Under $400 and we got a TV with all the BELLS and Whistles. 1920 x 1080 HD, 32" TV
Easy Plug and Play self installing setup.
Fantastic Picture out of the Box
Son is So So Happy, and he used his own dosh to pay for it!
Recommend to anyone that needs a Second TV or one for the Bedroom. Will be OK for XBOX360 or PS3 (As Full HD) Even the other shop name brands did not even come within $300 dollars of this product.
AT $348 (AUS) for a FULL Bell and Whistles it is a hard sub $400 TV (PS I used to also work in retail many years ago and the LEVEL of service at 2 stores was nothing short of VERY POOR! Thanks DSmith for also taking time to train your STAFF!
Pros: full hd 1920 x 1080, hd tuner, replacement warranty, low power consumption, good australian star rating, no middle man to increase the price point
Cons: 6.5ms, usb 2.0 not 3.0
 I would recommend this to a friend!
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Bedroom , or second TV
Date:19 December 2011
Customer Avatar
Disapointed
Location: Sydney
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Bargain at the $348 for the TV + Bonus deal leading to Xmas. Earlier reviews have me wondering as I find the colour (Australia is where I live COLOR IS AMERICA!) good. Remote is a bit basic but, hey it's inline with the price. Yeah I am happy with the product and would gladly recommend it to others.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Date:22 October 2011
Customer Avatar
didge
Location: Fairfield, Australia
Gender: Female
Age: 40-49
This is a great TV for the back sitting room, however, wasnt too happy with the sound quality, but if you had a few extra speakers the sound quality improves greatly, attached a nice Sony Bluray to it and works great, colours vivid and easy on the eyes. Remember to buy your HDMI cable as I discovered it doesnt come in the box. Overall a good little TV for the cost - affordable quality for most budgets especially if the "brand name" TVs dont fit your budget.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bad viewing angle.
Date:18 October 2011
Customer Avatar
turbopsi
Location: Melbourne
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
As per other reviews the default colour settings look little washed out. I managed to tweak the colour setting to a level I was happy with.
Viewing from a slight angle from either left or right and the colour is severely washed out. I tried to convince myself that for $298 delivered (current online special) it should be in line with expectations of a TV at this price point but then I compared it to other TV's including its cheaper LCD version and they all had much better viewing angles so I decided not to buy.
Pros: price (when on special), good picture quality when viewing straight on.
Cons: colours severely washed out if viewing on angle.
 I would not recommend this to a friend
12 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
satisfied
Date:26 September 2011
Customer Avatar
BlahNZ
Location: Sydney, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this TV on special for $348 with free shipping whilst on the 3 day special. Setting up was easy, USB playback was OK when tested but the colours on this TV seems a bit 'washed out' compared to my Samsung LED TV even after adjusting the display settings. Sound is a beat weak but overall at that price (or even lower when DSE had a special for $298) I would certainly recommend it.
Pros: good price, led backlit, pvr, usb playback (no mkv support), high energy star rating
Cons: colour is a bit 'washed out', speakers are a bit weak
 I would recommend this to a friend!
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
quality
Date:8 September 2011
Customer Avatar
pedro173
Location: melbourne
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have only had this tv for a few days, so far so good. excellent picture quality, needs a surround sound system as theres not enough bass in the sound but overall thus far, i'am very impressed. customer service is very good and very professional, so thankyou so far dicksmith......
Pros: picture qualityuser friendly
Cons: not enough bass in the sound
 I would recommend this to a friend!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty Good TV
Date:24 August 2011
Customer Avatar
paulc
Location: Sydney
Gender: Male
I picked it up from the store. Setup was a breeze and it scanned all the analog and digital TV and radio channels available in Sydney.
Very good picture quality. My linux PC has DVI and I connected it to the TV with a DVI to HDMI cable and it just worked and I got 1080P. Initially I used VGA connection but found that the video card works better. I was concerned if the PC works fine but no problems experienced.
Sound is acceptable for this price. But I think people would rather connect to the sound system.
So far so good for more than a week.
Pros: picture quality is comparable to my sony bravia., full hd
 I would recommend this to a friend!
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Compare the picture instore before you buy this TV
Date:22 August 2011
Customer Avatar
cassim
Location: Randwick
Gender: Male
Age: 50-59
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
That's exactly what I did after rushing into my local Dick Smith store to buy this TV.
Yes, its a cheap LED TV.
Yes, the power consumption is low.
Yes, its a really thin, smart looking TV that appears to be great value
..... But it all stops there!
This TV uses inferior EDGE LED back lighting technology resulting in very poor picture quality.
You will see when you compare in store that the colour on the standard picture settings on this TV is abysmal. Its very faded indeed. Yes, you can get over this by pumping up the colour setting from 50 to 80 and by reducing the brightness and increasing the contrast but its still not as good as your standard LCD TVs.
If picture quality and price are both important, you will find the GE6606 (Dick Smith 32" LCD TV) has a far better picture and is much cheaper as well.
On the other hand if you want an ultra thin, ultra lightweight LCD TV instead with ultra low power consumption then go for this one and boost the colour close to the maximum.
CONCLUSION: Do your in-store comparisons first before rushing out to buy this TV.
Pros: ultra thin elegant styling, low power consumption, lowest price for an led tv, full hd 1080p resolution
Cons: uses inferior edge led technology, poor picture quality on standard settings, minimal number of av inputs
 I would not recommend this to a friend
21 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good for the price, but missing important features
Date:18 August 2011
Customer Avatar
ebayaddict
Location: Sydney, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this TV for $360. For a basic unit to watch free-to-air TV it's fine.
However it does not do 1-1 pixel mapping for HDMI: which means that when you connect a PC or laptop via HDMI the TV "overscans" and does not show the complete picture from the laptop. Adjusting the output resolution and scaling does partially correct the problem, but the picture is not sharp. If you are planning to connect a PC via HDMI, DO NOT buy this TV!!
Pros: cheap, picture quality is satisfactory
Cons: no 1-1 pixel mapping for hdmi, no headphone jack, average audio quality
 I would recommend this to a friend!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than i hoped for.
Date:14 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Samantha
Location: Maitland, NSW
Gender: Female
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this tv at a bargain price of $369, but i would of happily paid the $448 because the quality of the unit is exceptional.
Very simple to put together, 4 screws and your done, and once you figure out where the little power switch is (underneath the system at the back on the right hand side (Right hand side if looking at it from the front)) Everything is smooooooth sailing. I hooked my PS3 up to it and the picture is stunning, blueray disks are gorgeous to look at, and standard free to air tv is great too. I love this tv so much, id buy it over and over again. :D
Pros: amazing quality easy to set up runs really quiet
Cons: none what so ever.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money
Date:8 July 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Cairns
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got to buy this one on special for $368.
I was not disappointment with the features and qality of this TV for that price; LED LCD, 1920 pixels, HD,...
 I would recommend this to a friend!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best value since $2.00 milk
Date:6 July 2011
Customer Avatar
Brycevr
Location: Bathurst, NSW
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I managed to get one of these for a bargain as part of a special.
I mainly use it for the screen on a PC driven Motor Racing Simulator and I've found it to be flawless.
It doesn't have the features of my main SONY bravia but for the money the quality is exceptional and the results are better than I'd hoped for.
General Blu-Ray and DVD playback are very good and the only features one could hope for would be integrated DVD and an S-Video input for my old PS2. Power consumption is great also.
Hard to beat at $499 but the special I got makes it incredible.
Pros: price, power consumption, simpicity, ease of setup, good user interface
Cons: no s-video, hdmi sound not implemented
 I would recommend this to a friend!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dick Smith 31.5" Full High Definition LED LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A REALLY GOOD BUY, REALLY GOOD SERVICE
Date:23 June 2011
Customer Avatar
BOROBOY
Location: ADELAIDE HILLS, SA
Gender: Male
Age: Over 60
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ORDERED TV ON SUNDAY, AT MY DOOR BY THE WED - ALL THE WAY FROM SYDNEY TO ADELAIDE HILLS - HAD A PROBLEM WITH THAT HIDDEN SWITCH, BUT THE TECH, BOYS AT DICK SMITH RESPONDED STRAIGHT AWAY AND SORTED IT FOR ME - EXCELLENT RECEPTION ON THE SET, WELL PLEASED WITH ALL ASPECTS OF DICK SMITH!!
I WOULD SUGGEST THAT THE SWITCH GETS A MENTION IN THE MANUAL - AND/OR IN THE ADVERTISEMENT FOR THE TV.
Pros: good backup sevice
Cons: need to mention the hidden switch
 I would recommend this to a friend!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>