Dick Smith Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Dick Smith
Shop TV & Video or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

PX Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna

Digital Indoor TV Antenna is active and covers all Australian Digital TV Channels both UHF and VHF. Features low noise amplifier technology and power LED indicator.
Average Customer Rating:
3.211 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
10 out of 19(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Review 1 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best $70 I ever spent
Date:18 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Cjoelad
Location: Taringa QLD 4068, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect reception. Good looking unit. Easy to use. Three thumbs up!
 I would recommend this to a friend!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fails in Perth Foothills
Date:25 January 2013
Customer Avatar
prolelicious
Location: Koongamia, WA
Gender: Female
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This antenna would probably work well if it weren't for our location. We're in Koongamia in the Perth foothills and whilst we can pick up signals for most stations it is choppy for most. We're going to have to install a rooftop antenna. It's worth giving a go with DSE money back guarantee it could work for you.
 I would not recommend this to a friend
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent picture
Date:2 January 2013
Customer Avatar
librachick77
Location: outer eastern metro, vic, australia
Gender: Female
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
easy to use - simply plug in and scan for channels.
I live outer east metro victoria
purchased for teenagers bedroom, picture quality is better that the external arial point in the lounge and picks up digital channels i cannot get - will be purchasing another for me to use!
Pros: easy to use, picks up all channels
Cons: very plasticy unit
 I would recommend this to a friend!
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect!
Date:21 July 2012
Customer Avatar
Kaz32
Location: Canberra, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Canberra, near Black Mountain, so I was hesitant this this product would not work since the Telstra tower distorts alot of signals. Hence why I avoided buying one for so long... I saw this product at DSE for half price at $30 and thought I would give it a go.
Easy to install and set up and I got all the digital channels except Prime7 on the first go (Canberra has no analogue reception anymore).
Prime7 has always been dodgy in my area, so I adjusted the antenna to the left and got all the Prime7 channels as as well! Too easy and I have had great reception since!
Definitely recommend!!!!!
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
 I would recommend this to a friend!
17 of 22 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PX Digital Indoor Antenna
Date:18 July 2012
Customer Avatar
hawicko
Location: Perth, Australia.
Gender: Male
Age: 50-59
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A complete waste of money. No signal at all on any digital channel (though it could pick up ABC and 9 on ANALOGUE). A disappointing purchase.
Pros: none
Cons: it completely fails to deliver
 I would not recommend this to a friend
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid this
Date:5 June 2012
Customer Avatar
Joshc
Location: Melbourne
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live in relatively central Melbourne and it could only pick up 2 channels - ABC and SBS. No matter where I moved it and raised or lowered the antenna, it got no better. I am returning this
Cons: everything
 I would not recommend this to a friend
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good INDOOR antenna
Date:20 December 2011
Customer Avatar
KingNeptune
Location: Melbourne, Australia (northern suburbs)
Gender: Male
Age: 50-59
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having acquired this INDOOR antenna for $4, that's right, four dollars, at a quick clearance "bin", probably because it was a "returned item", I wish that I had bought it evan at full price before I bought L4066 outdoor antenna (which I was using indoors).
The L4066 could only get the UHF channels, but this L4075 gets both VHF and UHF with a bit of orientation and adjustment of the whip antenna.
So far, I can get good quality on the 7 and 9 digital and all UHF channels, and reasonable quality on all anologue channels. Am still trying to get the 2 and 10 digital channels.
Does however require constant orientation and adjustment of the base and whip antenna.
One reviewer claimed that it does not receive freeview, however it does, because freeview is the digital channels.
It is however, an INDOOR antenna. Better results would be obtained with a properly mounted outdoor antenna.
I have rated it as good for both ease of use and performance commensurate with its INDOOR capabilities.
Pros: easy to set up, plenty of lead length, good reception for an indoor antenna
Cons: requires constant orientation, power adaptor is not suitable for power board
 I would recommend this to a friend!
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unsuitable for low signal areas
Date:18 November 2011
Customer Avatar
smackybum
Location: Balcatta WA
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You really need two rabbit ears to pick up a decent signal, one just doesn't work. Many of these had been opened at the local store which is testamant to the return rate. Recommend to go with a model with adjustable gain and two aerials if you are unable to get a rooftop aerial.
Pros: probably ok for high signal areas
Cons: inadequate for low signal areas
 I would not recommend this to a friend
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:6 September 2011
Customer Avatar
jeremys
Location: Adelaide, SA
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tv reciption in my area is not too bad. however, sometimes, pic can be a bit laggy. Ever since I bought this antenna, the problem has been solved. :)) love it, would definitely recommend this to my friends.
Pros: reasonable price, it does work well in adelaide
Cons: haven't found one yet. :p
 I would recommend this to a friend!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dissapointment
Date:24 February 2011
Customer Avatar
Porridgeo
Location: Southern Cross, Western Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A wire on a stick works better! Only 2km from transmitter, worse still I purchased two of them!
Cons: snowy poor reception
 I would not recommend this to a friend
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pathetic
Date:11 February 2011
Customer Avatar
Nouveau
Gender: Female
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Am returning this product for the second time in two days. The first time, when unpacking, it was clear that it had been returned previously. On attempting to use it, did not power up at all. Went to get a replacement today. Will pick up some UHF channels but no VHF signal at all no matter how it's configured. Should be subject to a product recall when two out of two don't function.
 I would not recommend this to a friend
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect
Date:12 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Beam
Location: Shortland, NSW
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moved house to a place without an external aerial. Bought this and it was as simple as plugging it into the power-point and the TV. Nothing more required. Great reception and small enough to sit unobtrusively behind my TV
Pros: small, easy to install
 I would recommend this to a friend!
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality purchase for the price.
Date:18 August 2010
Customer Avatar
tash
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in the Sydney area in a block of units, and using the television in the bedroom.
I had previously tried four indoor antenna's prior to this and had different degrees of success. One particular antenna from JB HI FI was an RCA, 100 dollar flatbed style antenna only picked up five digital channels.
With this antenna, I can pick up all the required digital channels without having to move it each time I want to view a channel. The picture quality is good. Only interference is if I happen to get up to walk past the antenna. Would happily recommend this product to anyone wishing to purchase an indoor antenna.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average Product
Date:4 June 2010
Customer Avatar
KennyQ
Location: Canberra
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Better than the other antennas, but still could not pick up all the digital channels especially Sbs. Gives good quality to the channels that do come such as ABC and WIN but does not pick up all the channels and is average at best !
 I would not recommend this to a friend
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Absolute rubbish
Date:15 March 2010
Customer Avatar
qballaus
Location: Edmonton, QLD, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Underperforming, plasticy and not worth the money.
Tested this aerial along with a couple more. If you're wanting an indoor aerial that performs consider the L4069.
While the L4069 may be larger, it actually works.
Pros: small size
Cons: poor performance
 I would not recommend this to a friend
27 of 33 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what is says on the tin!
Date:16 February 2010
Customer Avatar
Stockmore
Location: Sydney
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is absolutely brilliant for my area. Strong signal for digitial Hi-Def and its so small it hardly impacts my set up. Well worth the money.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
32 of 33 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:17 January 2010
Customer Avatar
MiCCAS
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Gender: Male
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're experiencing issues receiving all the free-to-air digital and analog television stations, and do not have access to an outdoor antenna, this product may be of great use!
After experiencing issues and only being able to receive one station using the standard 'rabbit ears' antenna, I purchased one of these antennas and now have full access to all the stations available in my area.
The build quality of the product is amazing, everything feels secure and sturdy. The device is designed so that you can open both arms out to position the antenna in the most appropriate location to receive the signals you are trying to access.
The unit requires one port for power, adding amplification into the device, which as a result means that you have more of a chance of picking up weaker signals.
Coupled with the 14 day change of mind policy, you can purchase this device and if it doesn't fix your reception problems, just return it for a full refund or exchange.
It isn't a replacement for an outdoor antenna, but for those who rent, or can't afford the installation of an outdoor antenna, this is a great device.
Pros: amazing build quality, change-of-mind policy
 I would recommend this to a friend!
229 of 237 found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Digital Indoor Active TV Antenna
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Features: 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5