Dick Smith Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Dick Smith
Shop AV Transmitters or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick Smith.

Cocoon COCOON 5.8GHz Dual Input AV Sender and Receiver AVS58

Watch and control TV and movies from your Pay TV or DVD player in another room without wires! The Cocoon 5.8GHz Dual Input AV Sender and Receiver technology gives you a clearer picture and less interference.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for COCOON 5.8GHz Dual Input AV Sender and Receiver AVS58
Review 1 for COCOON 5.8GHz Dual Input AV Sender and Receiver AVS58
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought one yesterday 15/5
Date:15 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Lammo
Location: Melbourne
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My existing 5.8 ghz receiver died so I bought this one from Dick Smith yesterday. Setup was straight forward and it "appared to" work first go.
However, my receiver appears to suffer the same problem as per the last poster. The receiver would automatically alternate between the two input sources every 10 seconds!! and the actual source switch button on the back of the receiver does not work.
*sigh* taking it back for refund today
Pros: promised features (if not faulty)
Cons: faulty! (see review)
 I would not recommend this to a friend
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for COCOON 5.8GHz Dual Input AV Sender and Receiver AVS58
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:26 April 2011
Customer Avatar
borough
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned after the receiver continually changed between the two sources.
 I would not recommend this to a friend
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for COCOON 5.8GHz Dual Input AV Sender and Receiver AVS58
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good but
Date:8 April 2011
Customer Avatar
joda5084
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 50-59
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found it easy to set up once the confusing but comprihensive array of cables was sorted, i am having a bit of triuble with the remote usage I think because my unit is mounted higher than the remote area The cordless phone only interferes when the handset is within 5 meteres of the reciever.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for COCOON 5.8GHz Dual Input AV Sender and Receiver AVS58
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy
Date:14 February 2011
Customer Avatar
KalStone
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked first time for me. First one I've seen with more than one input..
 I would recommend this to a friend!
Review 5 for COCOON 5.8GHz Dual Input AV Sender and Receiver AVS58
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5.8 vs Digital
Date:10 January 2011
Customer Avatar
AndrewG7
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had bought this product a year ago. Worked great until I bought my 5.8 WiFi. I then bought the digital version which solves the interference.
If you don't have other 5.8 items, save yourself $50 bucks and get this one.
Pros: great phone support
 I would recommend this to a friend!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for COCOON 5.8GHz Dual Input AV Sender and Receiver AVS58
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hard to set up but works great
Date:12 November 2010
Customer Avatar
rancox265
Location: Hervey Bay, QLD
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found it a little difficult setting up the transmitter and receivers, as the antenna boxes have to face each other generally for a good transmission signal to be reached.
Also, the IR extender cable has little "boxes" inline which must be adhered to the machine's IR eye for it to work properly.
However, once set up the picture and sound is of good quality, and I am able to switch between two sources with a press of a button on the back of the Receiver, allowing viewing of Austar, and watching Blu-Ray/DVDs in the bedroom.
Also, all remotes work flawlessly from the remote receiver's location.
On Final, the setup procedures require reading instructions and a basic audiophile knowledge, but the results from proper setup are pleasent.
Pros: clear picture & sound, allows for two a/v sources, additional receivers can be added
Cons: difficulty setting up
 I would recommend this to a friend!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for COCOON 5.8GHz Dual Input AV Sender and Receiver AVS58
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolute Rubbish
Date:15 September 2010
Customer Avatar
tallfella
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Second time I have tried this product in two different homes....cordless phones interfere with it even if you change channels on the box. and remote IR does not work
Cons: no good
 I would not recommend this to a friend
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for COCOON 5.8GHz Dual Input AV Sender and Receiver AVS58
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy set up & great value & almost perfect.
Date:26 February 2010
Customer Avatar
rattle
Location: Melbourne.
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!
I have this set up in a steel framed house with multiple wireless devices and the picture and sound quality on the television receiving the signal is flawless.
My Foxtel remote works great in the other room too.
It comes with plenty of cables in various combinations for most set ups.
Once you set it up, it's done and you don't need to adjust it again.
I mainly use it to watch Foxtel in the kitchen, but I have the sender unit connected to an AV switcher box, so that I can also watch DVDs from the lounge room, in the kitchen.
Just a word of caution though..
The 2 power packs that you plug into the devices are slightly different in power, so make sure you plug the stronger one into your SENDING unit.
The individual power packs have the power info printed on them, so you will know which is which.
This item is great value, easy to set up and the signal is of a good quality all the time.
Enjoy!
Pros: easy set up., signal quality excellent., comes with lots of cable combinations.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
88 of 89 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for COCOON 5.8GHz Dual Input AV Sender and Receiver AVS58
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cocoon AV Sender
Date:21 January 2010
Customer Avatar
CCD1
Location: Sydney, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to watch Foxtel on a second TV - it worked a treat and gave a great picture, you can use the Foxtel Remote on the second TV to change the channel - however only one channel can be watched ( IE not different channels on the two different TVs ).
Some of the cheaper 2.4ghz AV Senders may pick up interference from Cordless Telephones - there was no interference on this item.
Pros: easy to set up, great picture quality
 I would recommend this to a friend!
98 of 103 found this review helpful.