Dick Smith Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Dick Smith
Shop Media Players or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick Smith.

Western Digital WDTV Mini Media Player

An easy and affordable way to watch digital media on your big screen TV. Simply plug in WD's My Passport portable hard drive, or similar USB drive, and play all your movies, music, and view your photos on your TV.
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WDTV Mini Media Player
Review 1 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic unit!!!
Date:4 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Lucc
Location: Hunter Valley
Gender: Male
Age: Under 18
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I won runner up in the Rate and Review competition DSE ran a few months ago and decided to spend the gift card on this amazing player. It's incredibly simple and quick to set up, operate and watch. Picture quality and resolution are great. Looks cool on a 320x240 1975 television, and crisp, clear and generally awesome on a 1080p HDTV. Videos ripped directly off Youtube, DVDs dumped to a WD drive, even iPod type files off my media players all play smoothly and clearly on this media player. I can plug in just about ANY USB device and be guaranteed I will be watching a movie within seconds. It also handles mp3's from my mp3 player and HD photos off my camera fine. Navigation is simple yet effective. It even looks awesome. The supplied AC/DC adaptor is slim and economic, and includes adapters for all sorts of countries such as the US, China, the UK, etc. Meaning it can easilly be taken around that world. Great for overseas travel. Bring your entire DVD collection with you on a 1TB hard drive! The only thing I wasn't happy with was with the DVD file/VOB playback. My unit played it with extreme pixelation and breakup (sort of like on Digital TV with bad reception). An update from WD's website seemed to fix it. A fan mod also allows me to add external disk drives, a network connection, etc. Also, the supplied CDROM only contains a manual. The WD Mini is enhanced with superior Real Media playback, but does not supply a converter. I have plenty of AVI, MPG, etc converters but Real converters seem to be hard to find or extremely expensive. Over all a fantastic unit with good performance and quality!
Pros: great quality playback, works anywhere, lots of resolution options, supports lots of file formats, music and picture browsing, attractive, affordable, accepts nearly all usb storage devices
Cons: no included converting software, glitch with vob playback but easily fixed
 I would recommend this to a friend!
Review 2 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, it's near to un-beatable
Date:6 November 2010
Customer Avatar
DavidMK
Location: Sydney, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prior to buying this tiny little box, I had my very expensive PC running Windows 7 Media Centre hooked up to my TV as a second monitor with the sound connected through my surround system. The amount of fuss and cabling was astounding, plus it nearly renders the computer useless whilst Media Centre is in use on the second monitor.
I transferred all my media onto a USB hard drive and connected it to this little box and was astonished by it's capabilities.
Okay, so it won't play MKV files or HD movies, but it plays just about everything else.
The picture quality and upscaling is brilliant, the sound is fantastic via the optical output.
The remote is small, but once you're used to it it's easy to navigate with.
Searching through a large library of media is not recommended. I suggest organising the media files into folders using your computer before connecting it to the device to save yourself a long time scrolling through lists of files.
It's the best $50 I've spent on a gadget in as long as I can remember.
Pros: price, capabilities, size
Cons: none that i can justify given it's price
 I would recommend this to a friend!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Choice
Date:17 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Alany
Location: Perth, WA
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The WDTV X series are wonderful products. I have a number of video files and I would like to share them with my family, and with these WDTV devices we can watch them on our TV. It is absolutely a helpful product for me. Especially it supports .rmvb format files, but the bad news is that it does not support many other popular video format (e.g. mkv/mp4/...). For supporting other newer format files, I would recommend to buy the enhanced WDTV or WDTV Live or newer product lines. However I chose this mini version because it is enough for me and my family, and it was really a bargain when the price was $49 some time ago. A good choice!
 I would recommend this to a friend!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great travel companion
Date:8 August 2010
Customer Avatar
NoEmouse
Location: Adelaide
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I took one of these and a 500GB WD passport drive on a recent OS trip. No DVD player and only foreign language TV where we stayed. We plugged this little unit into the TV and the kids could watch their favourite shows in the morning and let Mum and Dad sleep in. YAY!! We could watch movies at night after the kids were in bed. So small and easy to use.
Pros: light small and easy to use
 I would recommend this to a friend!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbelievable value
Date:2 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Lucky
Location: Sydney
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I understood the concept prior to purchasing and I hoped it would work well for compressed backed up movies. If you have compressed movies on your PC this little unit with it's upscalling is fantastic. Compress the movies down to 1GB and then watch this upscale to an excellent picture and sound. I also purched 500GB portable hard drive and with this the unit can handle up to 500 films. I also added all of my music files and photographs. Connected to a HiFi it won't dissapoint the menuing looks good and is very easy to use and sound quality good. Would be a little neater if the harddrive was built in but hey at $60 or $70 it's a bargain and more user friendly than an apple TV at a quarter of the price.
Pros: upscaling, quality look and feel, price
Cons: no internal hard drive, not 1080p
 I would recommend this to a friend!
Review 6 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money second to none!
Date:25 July 2010
Customer Avatar
mingleman
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For under $150 dollars I have a rock solid, easy to use media centre.
I'll admit at first I was a little skeptical at first, I had a WD 1TB Hard drive which was quickly filling with all my various media. Prior to getting the WD Mini I was bringing my laptop over to the TV every time and found it pretty frustrating and scary with little ones running around all the various cords I had set up.
With this setup it's almost non existent, the hard drive lives at the back of the entertainment unit and this is about the size of an ipod dock and comes with a super simple remote. My wife has even raved about it's simplicity and ease of use. Our entire movie, music and photo collection all available 24/7 on our big screen.
We've been so impressed we've been taking it around to peoples place to show it off. I've just ordered a few more units on behalf of friends, it's great!
Pros: discreet little unit, easy to use, all your media always available to watch
Cons: wiring length may require additional wiring
 I would recommend this to a friend!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:24 July 2010
Customer Avatar
dimefan90
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When i bought a new HD TV all my DVD's looked terrible, i backed them all up to a portable HDD and with the WD TV mini they look amazing.
the upscaling is perfect.
It is very simple to use, and the UI is both attractive and fast.
the only things that would make it better is if it could play HD videos and had an ethernet port.
i have just ordered a WD TV live so i can play 720p BRRips, but the mini will be going in my bedroom.
overall it is a great product.
Pros: easy to use, compact, great price
Cons: is not full hd, no networking capability
 I would recommend this to a friend!
Review 8 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mini Player
Date:19 July 2010
Customer Avatar
JJJJ
Location: Adelaide
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It can do all I expect. Especially it supports RM formats.
It will be perfect if it could play full HD video. Since it already told that, I am not going to complain.
Also I have not found any full HD players which support RM.
Pros: all in one
Cons: no full hd
 I would recommend this to a friend!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great idea
Date:18 July 2010
Customer Avatar
Tyler
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Western Digital Media Player offers great playback quality and is a very easy machine to use. It is compact and saves having untidy dvd's all over the place. With the press of a button you can be watching shows off your removable hard drive or flash drive, the Media Player offers great value for money and like all WD products it is great quality. I rate this Media Player 5 / 5
 I would recommend this to a friend!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple for all to Use
Date:12 July 2010
Customer Avatar
infinity
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Gender: Female
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is perfect for all, young and old. I purchased 1 for my household to see if is worth it, and found it so so easy to work, just plug & play. Since then I have purchased 2 more as gifts. 1 I gave to my 91yr old grandmother who can now watch the usb I send her of videos of the family. No more of her ringing and asking how to work the dvd. I've only had limited issues regarding file formats, but it's not that much of an issue as I download a converter online and then it works fine.
I love this,I've loaded all my fave films and my 3yr olds shows onto the my passport hard drive (also made from Western Digital) in and play, its just so easy, no fiddling with dvd's. Not many keys on the remote, but thats what makes it so easy and simple to use. Superb quality. Some films you can kind of see where the next scene (as you'd pick from scene selection) would be, it seems to slow for a split second at the next scene.
I also love the fact that you don't have to go into the movie setup screen to put on the subtitles, with this little device you can start your film and when the film has started just click options over until you get to subs. It doesn't pause the film while doing it, its just a great lil box and well worth its price.
Some issues we've had is, if you don't press eject ie, you finish using the usb or hard drive connected and just turn it off, you may get a quick red flash of a red line across your sreen. We did test this on ours and also at my grandmothers and both do it if you mis eject it. Your hard ware will be safe if you eject it correctly, by simply pressing eject when your finished, a small print will pop up on the screen when its ejected.
Another issue, well not really an issue, just an improvement would be the length of the AV cable. Not very long at all.
I think its very much worth its price. I haven't hesitated to show it off to people when they pop over. So far I've taken my cousin, my neighbour and a mother from playgroup to purchase one each and also convinced them to purchase a 160GB western digital hard drive to use with it. I've shown them how to use it, and now they tell me its great.
So if your looking for simplicity without the hundreds of cords and the big price tag, grab one of these.
Pros: easy to use & understand, quick plug & play, doesn't take any space at all, perfect price
Cons: short av cable, non-eject damage see review, scene recognition see review
 I would recommend this to a friend!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Must have
Date:5 July 2010
Customer Avatar
Kent
Location: Sydney, Australia
Gender: Male
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this a few weeks ago for a very good deal, it was only $49.95.
I use it to watch movies, it has good definition. The only part this media player needs to improve in is the formats it can read.
Pros: can play rm/rmvb
Cons: can't play many formats
 I would recommend this to a friend!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth to purchase
Date:3 July 2010
Customer Avatar
Superfat
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it 1 week ago at a amazing price. It is very easy to use. I have tested it by different type of video.
Result:
It can play RMVB, RM type of video up to 1024x resolution. For AVI, it cannot go beyond 720.
Not many people will play a real HD, as it take 4 or 5 gb hard disk storage for one movie.
Therefore, this player really worth more than $50.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Somehting to watch out
Date:2 July 2010
Customer Avatar
JetAbe
Location: Canberra Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This does not support a lot of formats, buying the WD HD or WD HD live is a better bet.
50 bucks you can put it in your car which is what i will do.
Pros: neat tiny
Cons: does not play a lot of formats
 I would recommend this to a friend!
Review 14 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wot a Bargain
Date:24 June 2010
Customer Avatar
QUIK67
Location: modbury nth adelaide
Gender: Female
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well wot a bargain this little unit is no more attaching the laptop to the big screen. You wouldn't even know its there. Works well with all types of formats,music,movies,pics. Saved myself $100 on a home networking program. Hooked up my external harddrive and away it went how easy and no nonsense to deal with. Now i don't have to have my P.C to run my movies and don't have to get up every time to change or pause it, just use the little remote. good easy buy (for a change) really happy !!
 I would recommend this to a friend!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Little Unit
Date:14 June 2010
Customer Avatar
TimC
Location: Melbourne
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought one of these units, and it has proved to be a very worthwhile purchase. The menu system is easy to use, and the unit itself is very simple to setup and operate.
We have plugged it into a WD portable external drive, and loaded it full of programs for the kids to watch.
The good thing about this unit is that it will work with most hard drives, regardless of the file format (ie: it's not restricted to FAT32 like most DVD players with a USB Port).
Pros: easy to use menu system, great value for money, works with most hard drives, small - takes up very little space
Cons: av out cord is a little too short
 I would recommend this to a friend!
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a great price for this device!
Date:8 June 2010
Customer Avatar
ColB
Location: South Coast, NSW
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These things are really handy! I already had an HD version to play mkv etc but bought this standard one to use on other TV's around the house - I also take it to friends and relatives houses and have such an easy time watching movies and even music video clips on any TV. VERY Highly recommended!
Also bought it online and was able to track exactly where the item was at all times.
Pros: small, very portable, easy to use, straight forward remote control
Cons: didn't get one sooner ;)
 I would recommend this to a friend!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money.
Date:26 May 2010
Customer Avatar
rattle
Location: Melbourne.
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased one of these last week for $49.00 in store which at the time of typing this is superb value.
Plug in the power chord, plug in the appropriate tv connection, insert your usb stick or other memory via the usb port and away you go.
The menu screen has big and easy to understand icons and work well with the remote control.
Updated firmware is available on the WD web site which has a lot of other useful information and support.
Doesn't do the full on Hi def stuff (that I'm aware of), but it plays all you basic stuff like avi, mp4 etc.
Some people have had problems plaing divx files, but that can be overcome by renaming the file with .avi I believe.
The unit is so small and can easily be taken anywhere, but has no internal memory, so remember to take your files on a memory device too.
Pros: easy instal., easy to navigate menu system., small enough to take anywhere.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Purchase
Date:24 May 2010
Customer Avatar
SB95
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First time buyer on the website...fast delivery. Item itself is a great unit for the price. Plugged it in added my hard drive and off I went. No need to read manual, super simple to use, ideal for beginners. Small enough to pack into a handbag. I have found that the cables are a little too short was concerned the the remote won't be able to read that far into entertainment unit, however all works properly.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this
Date:5 May 2010
Customer Avatar
Aculight
Gender: Female
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little unit that doesn't take up much space easy to use and very good playback.
The only problem I have had is it won't play many of the file types listed as approved but have had no problems playing ISO or VOB files and all the movie menus work great.
Hopefully future firmware will fix this issue but it isn't a big enough problem for me not to still love this media player
Telling all my friends to get this
Pros: compact and portable, easy to use
Cons: doesn't play all the media types
 I would recommend this to a friend!
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WDTV Mini Media Player
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product
Date:22 February 2010
Customer Avatar
buzz
Location: Qld
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this a great little product. Very easy to use with the on screen display and so handy to take with you on trips. Once you have your portable harddrive loaded up with whatever you wish to watch, just a few simple plug ins and your on your way. Great quality, reliability, compact and easy. All the things you wish for in a portable device, no more need to carry around dvd's full of photos or movies.
Pros: compact easy to use
Cons: an inbuilt hard drive would be a bonus.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>