Dick Smith Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Dick Smith
Shop Routers & Switches or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick Smith.

D-Link D-LINK N300 Wireless ADSL+Modem Router

The DSL-2740BR RangeBooster N™ ADSL/ADSL2/2+ Modem Router is a versatile, high-performance remote router for the home and small office.
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for D-LINK N300 Wireless ADSL+Modem Router
Review 1 for D-LINK N300 Wireless ADSL+Modem Router
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So Frustrating!!!
Date:8 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Franciscus
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Gender: Female
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am disappointed that this product cannot do its job when I need it to. When I need the Internet, it won't deliver. This evening I have spent 2 hours trying to get some Internet. What a waste of time and it has turned our relaxed evening into utter frustration. Other times it just drops out....
 I would not recommend this to a friend
Review 2 for D-LINK N300 Wireless ADSL+Modem Router
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Beware Mac users...
Date:28 November 2012
Customer Avatar
matthk
Location: Sydney, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I tried setting up this router via my Mac (OSX10.6.8) but it crashed continually during the browser based wizard. Eventually, these hard crashes caused a kernel-panic which took hours to recover from.
I didn't blame the router. (Why should I?)
I then dug out my old MacBook pro (OSX10.5.8) and tried setting the router up with that. Same hard crashes, and corrupted system files. (Thank Jobs for Applejack!)
This then was no coincidence.
I then went online via my iPhone, (as both Macs were in recovery mode) and found on the Apple Support pages and elsewhere that quite a few have had this problem - while others have noticed that wi-fi works fine for PCs, but when someone brings their MacBook Pro onto the wi-fi network, the Mac would crash.
I eventually setup the DSL-2740 via a borrowed iPad (there are no PCs - but 7 Macs - in our geek share house) and it 'seems' to be OK for now. I'll keep my eye on it.
So... I'm not saying don't buy this, but I am saying beware.
Pros: cheap(ish), prettier than a toaster
Cons: no mac wizard (what is this? 1996?)
 I would not recommend this to a friend
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for D-LINK N300 Wireless ADSL+Modem Router
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Faulty
Date:16 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Wrighty
Location: Perth
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok so I bought one of these from dicksmith. I hadn't started to use it for about a month but when I did wifi worked horriy always dropping out. The portforwarding seemed to work intermitantly. It did work will over Ethernet connection even updadted to newest firmware this still did not fix the wifi issue
Pros: simple setup
Cons: bad quality wifi, bad quality device
 I would not recommend this to a friend
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for D-LINK N300 Wireless ADSL+Modem Router
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fast, Cheap, Good Range - Only one glitch......
Date:16 June 2012
Customer Avatar
Surfing
Location: Sydney
Gender: Male
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yes - this modem is very fast and works great with IPTV from TPG. You just need to research the web carefully to turn on the right IGMP settings - and set the Multicast rate to 9 Mb/s. Now I can watch 20 international TV channels in high definition on the computer for free....using a wifi connection!! But nothing is ever perfect.....about once a month I turn it on, only to discover it's forgotten all those carefully researched configuration settings.... Yes it's like a factory reset - everything is gone.....
Fortunately you can back up the settings to a file and restore from file.
Pros: fast good tv long range, nice price
Cons: config settings get wiped out
 I would recommend this to a friend!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for D-LINK N300 Wireless ADSL+Modem Router
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Get something else for apple tv
Date:17 March 2012
Customer Avatar
Crawf
Location: HIlls District, NSW
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good modem if you don't use apple tv.
Reliable and good for the money.
But you will get slow speeds if connecting the apple tv.
For apple tv go for the apple wifi router they sell
Pros: cost, good performer
Cons: not fast when using apple tv
 I would recommend this to a friend!
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for D-LINK N300 Wireless ADSL+Modem Router
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with my purchase
Date:23 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Hockey
Location: Perth, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 50-59
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Dlink router but the other day the Internet connection failed. It was intermittent and eventually I decided that it needed replacing (first I thought it was my ISP, then that I had corrupted it with a WiFi sync causing an address conflict, then I found it dropping out and knew it was the device. Only a year old ... hmmm.
But I went with another Dlink router and while I was apprehensive I was pleasntly surprised when, after about ten minutes or so of set up time, "it just worked".
 I would recommend this to a friend!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for D-LINK N300 Wireless ADSL+Modem Router
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overwhelmingly Great!
Date:21 December 2011
Customer Avatar
TechyEnthusiast
Location: Queensland, Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Straight to the point, This D-link unit is an excellent ADSL+2 Modem Router, has performed brilliantly whilst we've had it . Just recently acquired this nifty product to replace my old run down Router, *Cough* D-link DSL-G604T. A good quality router overall, easy to set up the "physical" hardware, nice that it came with the Phone Splitter.
The CD given to you isn't great, The wizard was just horrible, the internet setup process may be difficult for inexperienced users.
Overall, this product has performed exceptionally high, Great Wireless range, nice design, nifty features and has an ON AND OFF SWITCH!
Pros: great wi-fi range., phone splitter cables are all there
Cons: cd is pratically useless
 I would recommend this to a friend!
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for D-LINK N300 Wireless ADSL+Modem Router
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:12 July 2011
Customer Avatar
ravenblack
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality Modem/Router for ADSL service. Have had for a few months and it hasn't failed. The wireless on/off switch doesn't seem to work if you turn wireless off in the router menu, that is my only gripe. So have to turn wireless on or off in menu so button is useless. Has MAC address filtering for wireless and protection against DOS attacks. Router menu is easy to use. Nice product overall.
Pros: reliable, easy to use, security features
 I would recommend this to a friend!
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for D-LINK N300 Wireless ADSL+Modem Router
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You won't regret buying this!
Date:2 July 2011
Customer Avatar
CG64
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok so, I just quickly made this account to write a review about this product and to help the people out there who can't decide about which modem our router they should get. I bought this to replace my old adsl2 modem/router that died. (Netgear dg834pn) Which was actually a pretty good modem, great wifi range, fast lan..it does its job well. So anyway I went to the shop and bought the netgear dgn1000 and I had to return it because it only works well with laptop and new devices. So I looked and looked for a better one and ended up buying this, looking at it specs, it made me think that it should be better compare to the other one. The good thing is it also b&g back compatible. It also minimises the traffic in the network and everything, bandwidth can also be controlled. So I bought it ($109) quickly installed it, tried the ethernet first and it was very fast, then the moment of truth the wifi. I tried it on the laptop first and then BAM super fast, then on my phone which only uses b and g and then BAM just like when I tried it on the computer. Then I went outside the house using my phone and its still picking up the wifi reception (15m approx). Overall if you are looking for an adsl2 modem that has got wifi already then I suggest you buy this, trust me you will be sooooo happy about this purchase. Its wifi don't drop out very easily. Good for streaming HD vids too! :D
Pros: wifi design ethernet pretty much everything.
Cons: set-up. might be a little bit advanced
 I would recommend this to a friend!
55 of 58 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for D-LINK N300 Wireless ADSL+Modem Router
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5