Dick Smith Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Dick Smith
Shop Multifunction Printers or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick Smith.

Brother BROTHER DCP-J315W Multi-Function Colour Printer

Do More with the Brother DCP-J315W Multi-Function Colour Printer with Print, Scan and Copy capabilities across your existing wireless network. Features include direct photo print, 1.9'' colour LCD display and media card reader.
Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BROTHER DCP-J315W Multi-Function Colour Printer
Review 1 for BROTHER DCP-J315W Multi-Function Colour Printer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had it a month and it's already dead
Date:12 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Clairebeah
Location: Gold Coast
Gender: Female
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My title says it all really. Have had this machine for a month. Granted it's not a wiz bang machine but I didn't need all the bells and whistles. My husband said it was super easy to set up. Worked like a breeze up until now when the screen died so couldn't select any copy/scan functions. Couldn't even turn the thing off. Had to get a replacement.
Pros: easy set up
Cons: died after one month
 I would not recommend this to a friend
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BROTHER DCP-J315W Multi-Function Colour Printer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent purchase
Date:3 May 2013
Customer Avatar
linmore
Location: lockyer waters
Gender: Male
Age: Over 60
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy set up and quality printing this is a printer that makes printing a very easy task and works with Windows or Mac computers
Pros: easy to use
Cons: none
 I would recommend this to a friend!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BROTHER DCP-J315W Multi-Function Colour Printer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I HATE IT SO MUCH
Date:6 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Nikhi
Location: Brisbane
Gender: Female
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am finally buying another printer from Dick Smith after being frustrated from contstant jamming (can take 1 hour and constant opening back cover, closing back cover, taking jammed paper out, opening top lid, closing top lid, manually moving ink bar to the right to not have error36 signs to print even just one page. HATE IT, HATE IT, HATE IT and it is only 14 months old. Started playing up almost immediately, really should have returned it.
 I would not recommend this to a friend
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BROTHER DCP-J315W Multi-Function Colour Printer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BROTHER DCP J315W
Date:26 December 2012
Customer Avatar
sportyspice
Gender: Female
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brought two of these, I am a uni student and usually only use it for assignments.
One of them doesnt even print anymore and keeps jamming and tearing good copy paper.
The other one is not much better.
Save your money, a Brother DODO.
 I would not recommend this to a friend
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BROTHER DCP-J315W Multi-Function Colour Printer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brother DCP-J315W Printer
Date:5 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Lindisfarne
Location: Adelaide SA
Gender: Female
Age: 50-59
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again Dick Smith & Brother come thru with top marks. I purchased the DCP-J315W to replace my DCP-115 that gave me no problems in it's 8 plus years of service and it was worked hard for a small home/office printer between 1 high scool, 2 uni students and 2 grandies as well as myself. One of my grandies thought it was great that the printer was older than he. Ordered J315W online, midnight 24 August on my doorstep 3.00pm 30 August. Only took 25 minutes to get it out of the box fit cartridges and print first A4 text page, scan a photo and save, scan a document and save. First printer was an Epsom and an Epsom flatbed scanner some 20 years ago - immensely forgettable experience. Within 3 weeks purchased a Brother reason being it was what was used in my workplace back then, and have never looked back. My old workplace still uses Brother and so shall I in my retirement. It is 20 years since I purchased my 1st brother printer and this is my third so I cannot see any reason to purchase any other brand. Thanks Dick Smith for a user friendly website, quality products at value-for-money prices. Fast friendly service both instore and online.
Pros: easy install easy operation easy read lcd window
Cons: preferred the paper tray in my dcp115 model
 I would recommend this to a friend!
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BROTHER DCP-J315W Multi-Function Colour Printer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent Printer
Date:6 March 2012
Customer Avatar
Douglas
Location: South Australia
Gender: Male
Age: 19-29
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had an Epson printer, which was a very nice (and expensive) printer, up until it decided to think that it was constantly jammed even when it had no paper in it.
Being tight on money and not wanting much more than something that could print, scan and use individual ink cartridges, I was drawn to this. Nothing else in the price range used individual ink cartridges, instead using a tricolour cartridge and a black cartridge, which is not economical.
Took it home, set it up and installed the provided software. It was nice to see that the unneeded software that you're unlikely to ever use wasn't shoved down your throat, instead presented as an option to install later if you desired. The driver is also pretty lightweight as well, none of the 500MB nonsense that you'd see from HP, instead being compact and offering all the features that you'd need.
Print quality is good, with text coming out nice and clear and colour looking nice and vivid.
The bottom feeding paper drawer is a nice feature, especially if the printer sits in a hutch and there's limited room above the printer.
It has wireless but I've never used the wireless functionality.
It also includes a USB cable, which is nice. More often than not you'll find printers don't have USB cables and you'll need to go back to the store to get one to use it.
There are two things that I wish this printer had, though.
Firstly, it uses the Windows scanning interface instead of a custom TWAIN driver. This is fine for basic scanning however it doesn't have some advanced features that you'd find in, say, Epson Scan, such as features to enhance scans from magazines and newspapers. If you're not wanting advanced bells and whistles for scanning you'll find it sufficient, if you're wanting more I would suggest looking at an Epson.
Secondly, I kinda got used to the document feeder on my Epson printer, so a feeder would be nice. However that's not happening at this price range, so I can't really take points off for that.
Something to point out as well: my Dick Smith store seems to never have cartridges for this printer in stock. You can buy cheaper alternatives which do the job (as I have done) but bear in mind you may need to look around for Brother-branded cartridges.
All in all, this is a decent basic printer that would suit a student or perhaps someone who just wants something for occasional printing.
Pros: excellent value, excellent print quality, lightweight driver, optional bloatware, includes usb cable
Cons: wia scanning instead of twain scanning, sometimes hard to find cartridges
 I would recommend this to a friend!
37 of 37 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BROTHER DCP-J315W Multi-Function Colour Printer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great printer
Date:15 January 2012
Customer Avatar
3cats
Location: NSW Central Coast
Gender: Female
Age: 40-49
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a very technical minded person but I find this printer/scanner very easy to use and have not had a problem at all in the 6 months I have owned it. Ink cartridges a very reasonable and seem to last well with lots of HSC printing being done at my place. I used it to scan about 200 photos and make a slideshow for my husbands 40th birthday and it did a great job.
Very happy with the price, the quality and how user friendly it is.
Pros: easy to use, great price, quality printer
Cons: none
 I would recommend this to a friend!
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BROTHER DCP-J315W Multi-Function Colour Printer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so far so good
Date:15 September 2011
Customer Avatar
adam77
Location: melbourne
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a basic, compact wireless printer. I saw this online and purchased it from my local store. I always read reviews, so I thought it's about time I actually wrote one.
I've only had this for a day, but I'm really impressed. I don't need super high end printing but this seems to just work how it should. Can't ask for more than that for $80.
Very happy so far.
Pros: very good value
Cons: none so far
 I would recommend this to a friend!
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BROTHER DCP-J315W Multi-Function Colour Printer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good printer Wireless connectivity is seamless
Date:23 July 2011
Customer Avatar
pwalia
Location: sydney, australia
Gender: Male
Age: 30-39
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have just bought this printer and connected within my Home network using wireless function. This is my first 'wireless' multifunction printer and I was not sure how it will go. But I must say I am impressed with its seamless connectivity across my Home network.
Overall good product and will recommend.
 I would recommend this to a friend!
43 of 45 found this review helpful.